Rennies

TRAVEL ALERT - Germany/ Iran - India - France January 2020

blog

GERMANY/IRAN

Lufthansa Group airlines is suspending flights to and from Tehran, Iran until 28 March 2020. This is due to the continuing unclear security situation for the airspace around Tehran airport and for Iranian airspace.

INDIA

Delhi airport will be a no-fly zone for nearly two hours every day in the run up to Republic Day. There will be no flight operations between 10:35 a.m. and 12:15 p.m. on 22, 23, 24 and 26 January 2020. Parade rehearsals are the cause of the disruptions.

Air passengers traveling on any of the days are advised to check with their respective airlines and plan accordingly. Also, pasengers should try to reach the airport several hours before departure time due to stringent security to avoid any inconvenience.

FRANCE

A planned air traffic control (ATC) strike will distrupt travel in France from 23-25 January. The strike is scheduled from 1800 UTC/1 p.m. ET on Thursday, 23 January, until 0530 UTC/12:30 a.m. ET on Saturday, 25 January. Passengers planning to fly into or out of airports in France during the ATC strike should contact their airline well in advance of departure to confirm flight status.

In addition, Actu.fr is reporting that SNCF and RATP unions have called for a large-scale strike on 24 January, which is expected to result in severe disruption to Paris metro and suburban RER services. The unions have called for a "black day" on Friday, referring to strike days when no metro, bus, or RER services are running and stations are closed.